Krampus (2015) Review

Released in December 2015, and directed by Micheal Dougherty, Krampus has brought a new meaning to Christmas spirit.

While most associate Christmas with warm fires, holiday songs, and ugly sweaters, this movie allows for the spread of a classic European folktale, which warns naughty children of what could happen if they continue their dastardly ways.

In this film, a family at odds finally wears out one of the youngest children with their constant fighting. He loses his hope for a perfect Christmas, like the ones he remembers from past years before the family began to dread the festive holiday, and unwittingly unleashes the fury of the “shadow of St. Nicholas”. Otherwise known as Krampus.

As the family is picked off one by one, they slowly come to find the true meaning of Christmas as it pertains to them.

While I sat in the dimming theatre, forced to watch at least four previews before the feature film, I unimpressed. This was until a holiday movie appeared that I could see myself getting behind: Krampus.

I’d recently taken out a book of the same name by Gerald Brom, and silently hoped that it would follow the same plot. Though, while it did not, I still had high hopes. Seeing the demented toys and the fantastical rendition of Krampus itself, I was honestly very excited. The humorous snippets that

were shown didn’t quite stick out to me at the time, and I thought that it may follow the familiar track that most films do, where often some form of comedy relief is necessary to prevent complete emotional exhaustion in the audience. With this in mind, it was relatively understandable that those scenes would be advertised, to make it a little more appealing to a general audience.

With the advertisements on the websites, people talking about it, and some reviews coming in, I thought it was going to be an interesting take. It was also an exciting prospect to finally see an actually well made, live-action representation of Krampus.

After waiting month after month, I find myself only now being able to see it via Amazon Video, and after doing so I have to say:

I am disappointed.

It would be one thing if it was advertised as what it was: a borderline satirical review of dysfunctional families blowing smoke during the holidays with something spooky thrown in, but personally, I only saw that it was advertised as a horror film. And that, I strongly believe, is one thing it is not. It is something akin to Cabin in the Woods, or even the Scary Movie franchise. It’s almost a joke in itself, and while entertaining and the monsters in it clever, I feel that I was led astray by the raving reviews I heard of this so-called horror film.

 

 

Leave a Reply

